Revisiting a Four-Year-Old Essay

Posted: August 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

I was throwing away old stuff, mostly college papers, when I stumbled upon a reflection paper I had written for my Ethics class four years ago. My topic was about character education. Some of the lines I have written are quotable. Props to myself. naks! But the question is, have I practiced these ideas in my three years of teaching? I can’t deny the idea that there is a disparity between theory and practice. I was not a teacher, then. I had ideal visions. Have these visions been stomped by practicality and reality? I hope not.

August 01, 2007

“Modeling is the simplest way to uphold character education. While I am not suggesting that teachers be immaculate, they should somehow exemplify upright behavior. One cannot instill right conduct to anyone if he himself does not possess it.”

Am I modeling right conduct to my students? I hope and I believe so.

“It is also necessary that teachers establish good student-relationship. Some students like being tapped on their shoulders for a task well done or for a question well answered. A child discouraged by academic, athletic, and artistic failure often needs encouragements to ward off self-pity.”

This was the wannabe psychologist in me. haha… But I like these lines so much. I think I have been consistent in practicing this idea.

“Academic discussions may be swept away tomorrow. But their learned values will be instilled to them for good. Moral influences outlast academic learning. As teachers and educators, we can leave our students a legacy that will remain constant throughout their lives. “

winner na concluding statements ito! hehe.. sige.. I will always keep this in mind.

Leave a Reply

